Беглецы (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
80 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Not as bad as I thought
corruptedxrose1 December 2017
Honestly, not sure why some reviewers are giving this show so much flack.. so it's not exactly like the comics.. big deal. Not everything in the MCU is gonna be right down to a T. MCU has always put a little spin on their films and TV programs. People are saying this show is slow to start, I prefer that. I like learning about the characters and their backgrounds before diving into the action and suspense.

I say, give the show a chance.. it's literally on its fifth episode. Give it time to grow.
60 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It's like someone read the Wikipedia page and looked at the character design only
lalabrak7922 November 2017
If you are a fan of the comics, this show is definitely not for you. Almost all the background story of each character has changed, and there are a lot of materials that do not exist on the show that reminds me of B or C rated drama shows that have been canceled after one season. None of the charms of the comic book has been incorporated. It feels like the writers just read an the outline of the story, looked at the character designs, and decided they'll make up everything else.

Even if I didn't read the comics, the dialogues and writings are weak at best.
74 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
If you love the comics, this is a huge disappointment
sheviarnold21 November 2017
The show is geared more towards fans of Gossip Girls than fans of the Runaways comic books. Unfortunately, I fall into the latter group, so three episodes in I am disappointed. I had such high expectations for a TV series based on one of Marvel's greatest comic-book series ever! But this series clearly wasn't made for the fans.

Okay, so basically in the comic-book series, a bunch of teens and one tween get together once a year while their parents have a get together. When the series starts, the main characters discover that some of them have superpowers and that all of their parents are super villains, which is why they run away, hence the title of the series. It's all about rebellion, finding yourself apart from your parents and society, and forming your own family of friends and your own identity.

That's in the comic book series. The TV series has a similar plot, but is very different in that all the characters are watered down. Actually, everything is watered down. There are things that I was looking forward to because of how amazing they are in the comics, and then when the show gets to them, they're clichéd, and seriously not amazing. All the things that make the Runaways series so great have been washed away to be replaced by shades of gray and Gossip-Girls- style drama.

The comics books had excitement, humor, fun, and really focused on the Runaways themselves. It's a shame that this series doesn't seem to understand or care about any of that. It's just using the Runaways name and character names to create a Gossip Girls with super powers.

I'm sure that the series is fun for those who like Gossip Girls, Riverdale, and shows like that. But if you're more into Marvel's Runaways, Generation X, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, or stories with a lot more humor, magic, strong characters and bite, this show is so not it.
74 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's a joke. Re name it school of bad acting
michaelyoungman28 May 2018
It's so poor utterly unconvincing and boy so boring.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Greatness and imagination
erik_rosen_sziraki30 November 2017
This is a true light in the dark of a show! I dare you to watch 4 episodes despite all the BS in other reviews. In fact I double dare you! If you like the superhero genre, this will stand out as one of the best since season 1 of Heroes. The show demands that you pay attention, both to the subtleties in the characters, and to the in your face stunning cinematics.

And if you haven't seen the trailer yet, DON'T! Saw the trailer after two episodes and Just as I suspected I'm glad i did't watch it before I started episode 1.

I never write reviews. So if this is the review that will make you watch this show, I'm grateful. Because if the series continue for more seasons in the magnificent way the first four episodes have, we're all in for a treat.

I'm the person who didn't bother to watch season 2 of Arrow because it's just to repetitive and boring. Same with many of the other «Marvels».

Just watch it.
56 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
read before watching
cpedwick-3099831 January 2018
OMG i thourght inhumans was bad, each almost hour spent watching evry episode i can not get this time back. i was recommended this show based on a heroes and legion convo, FML this shizzle is realim so mad, 1 minutes worth of powers in 10 hours the teen flick story line and lack of skill acting and power make this something i woulnt expect of the brand. its so slow the action blends in as there is none there is one scene in the tenthep which u dint even see!!!! u see the first part and then are c blocked making this the penultimate in let downs
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Comic Fan Seal of Approval
kitcass-0621623 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Runaways was my first ever comic book, Its the reason I fell in love with comics at all. I've been waiting for a runaways movie for years, and wasn't sure what to think when it was announced as a series instead, but i was hopeful. After 3 episodes I can say I still believe it would have been better adapted as a movie. The pacing is slow because they have to stretch it out, and a big budget studio would have allowed for a CGI Old Lace, which would be preferable to the puppet they're currently working with.

I do, however, think this show is very enjoyable. I'm a comic fan, but I also know that changes must be mad when adapting, and none of the changes have been absurd. Making the parents have their own stories and motives, as well as stretching out the time between the kids finding out and them going on the run was necessary, simply to fill the time a TV show needs to fill. Changes to the story, such as Molly's background and the Gibborim are yet to be seen, but I think it's half stretching time, and half updating a story that's nearly 15 years old. (who else remembers 2003 vanilla racist Chase).

Overall, a fun story that's not 100% a loyal adaptation, and a little slow paced, but definitely worth watching, especially if you're not a nitpicky comic fan. I still think it would have been better as a movie, but it feels wrong to blame the Hulu team for a mistake made by the MCU, and the show is doing it's best.
30 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Poorly directed and acted
terrencepatrix22 November 2017
So far this show just isn't engaging and I found myself getting bored throughout the first three episodes. The characters just don't feel like characters, they're very poorly fleshed out. Sure it's a diverse cast but they're not exactly diverse in attitude, all the teens act pretty much the same. We know very little about them other than how they dress and you can tell how hard they're trying to make them as inoffensive and PC as they can which really takes away the sense of fun.

Then there's the fact that it's a show about people with abilities and we've seen a total of maybe 60 seconds of special effects over the course of three hours. Inhumans had this same problem. No one is tuning in to see another drama, these comics are interesting because they're about people with powers. I know they're trying to save money because well...it totally looks like they're trying to save money. No original sets, no special effects, just people talking or staring. Which is where the poor direction comes in. Once again they're just not interesting or engaging, they actually come off as somewhat annoying. The actors aren't very competent either but that could be a result of the direction.

Then there's the one with the purple hair. They actually nailed the looks of the kids in comparison to the comics but they made this one just a carbon copy teen SJW spouting the same silly nonsense. Maybe it appeals to that niche crowd but most people in real life just plain don't talk that way.

Just very underwhelming so far. I'll still give it a shot but it's not looking very good so far.

Edited: Just finished the 4th episode and...no it's not getting better. Little to no plot advancement, roughly 60 seconds of special effects that are poorly done, cringe worthy dialogue and acting. Gert is just plain annoying. Most the kids are actually, there is no individuality or personality from any of them. Just nothing happens and 4 hours into a series that's just unacceptable, there is literally zero action, this is nothing more than a teen drama with a sprinkling of comic elements.

This show is supposed to be about teens with abilities who discover their parents are members of a super villain cult, but it's turned that into barely a side plot. What's the point?
64 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
YAAR There be cheap stereotypes on the horizon!
borismk-3894222 November 2017
Instead of breaking the mold with the characters on this show runaways basically copies and pastes most of it's characters and decides that it's clearly morally wrong to give them any real nuance. From the parents who fit neat little boxes like the ultra religious types, or the angry abusive and power hungry dad with no redeeming qualities whatsoever, to the angry girl with dyed hair and an attitude that does nothing but relate everything to some sort of social agenda. It feels like Marvel decided that every character has to substitute uniqueness with box ticking. Let's appease people's desire for simplistic characters that do't challenge our perceptions at all. Like so many shows it had lots of possibility that simply fell flat
56 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
There Can Only Be One.... season
travis-139-86816730 November 2017
This series is an excellent example of the importance of good screen writing. Perhaps any lesson one might wish to learn about what to avoid while adapting or creating a television series can be gleaned from the missteps found in this series.

The only thing more cliché than saying that the writing in Runaways is a train wreck, is the series itself. Some (but by NO MEANS all) of the actors and actresses in this series are clearly more talented than the limited script permits them to be, but there is just simply no escaping the dumpster fire that is the written pages which found their way upon the screen.

After enduring the three episodes and asking myself, "what is happening here?" "What is this about?" "Who are the bad guys?" "Who are the heroes?" All I can find myself replying is that not even the writer knows up to this point, and with ten minutes left in the fourth episode I found myself yearning for some way for my wasted hours of life to return to me.

The series has, in writerly terms, spent entirely too much time laying pipe, and the plot moves with all the speed and menace of a shipwrecked barge.

I demand a refund on my time.
41 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I don't get it
karlbest16 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I liked this at first, then it slowed down, way down and I gave no more craps. I had to force myself to finish it. I really don't see or get the point in it. I wanted action, Marvelesque type stuff, instead I got a bunch of over aged "teenagers" with vocabulary of 30 year olds, that can hack multi billion dollar corporations, out smart people with money, power, powers, etc. and a totally lackluster story with zero freaking point. So please, someone explain to me how this show is good. Don't waste your time on it.
20 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Thoughts after watching the entire season 1
foxcool21 November 2017
Why do marvel keep allowing these boring series to be made? They spent the entire 53 mins of the first episode showing teenage drama and off screen history for the whole pilot.

I understand they want mystery in the story but why emphasize on the most boring mystery of the kids becoming emos? It was supposed to be about a bunch of kids with super powers and they manage to make even that boring.....

The show should have started with the last 15mins of the pilot and pick up from there. After the first episode, I left with both a "sigh" and a "meh". ----------------------------------------- After watching the season in its entirety, it feels like it got way too much teen drama that we don't care about and not enough plots that we do. The most interesting parts involves actually involves the parents and it feels like it would be a better show if they called it "parents of runaways" and just focus on the parents instead.
43 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's even worse than i was expecting..
BatmanFunReviews201821 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
After discovering their parents are super-villains in disguise, a group of teenagers band together to run away from their homes in order to atone for their parents' actions and to discover the secrets of their origins. Marvel's Runaways is another Teen Soap Opera TV Show where a bunch of teenagers are dancing and drinking and one day they realize that their parents aren't exactly "saints" and they basically run away and they also have super powers for some reason because it's cool right? If you expect this show to be great because Rotten Tomatoes said so you're gonna be disappointed because what Runaways does in the end or what it did to me at least was to bore the hell out and i could swear that like every 10 to 15 minutes there was a teen song playing in the background but what makes the show even worse is the lack of excitement and talent since none of the actors are good in doing their job or at least make me care about their characters their all the classic old teen type of character that loves music, is angry with one of the parents and above he or she has superpowers and honestly it doesn't bring anything new to the Marvel Saga or the Comic Book Era in general it's the same old thing just like Legion and Gifted was and it's just as bad as Inhumans. Overall this is a show that some people might like and others might not and i'm with the minority on this one because it was another step back for the MCU it's boring, predictable and above all it brings nothing new to the table it's something that i have seen done better in better movies and TV shows in general and i'm afraid that Marvel has started going down a path that even i can't follow at this point. (0/10)
49 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
OK show. Thought it would be better
eisenmyer123422 November 2017
The show is moving at a much slower pace than the trailer suggested which I wouldn't have minded had the show been any good. Runaways is decent at best with mundane script writing and an over saturation of clichéd characters. They've introduced so many characters early on that you're almost perplexed at times as to who's who and their relation to the other characters as well as their relevance to whatever the plot is becoming. As for the plot, it tries to be too mysterious and foreboding that it only confuses itself in numerous plot holes and bad character decisions for the sake of extending the story and providing unnecessary drama.
37 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very good TV and very promising
namob-4367321 November 2017
This show is one of the best installments of Marvel yet. Agents of Shield is still the best Marvel has done, including the movies, and this is actually not far away from that high level of greatness.

Granted I have only seen the first 3 episodes, but a very compelling and original storyline together with very good actors make this show a must see in today's landscape. There is so much crap on TV and it is good to see something this fun and engaging. Although I believe that this show will mostly speak to teenagers, and most likely resonate very well in that demographic, this is for everyone.

The parents are super creepy. Normal, but rich, well behaved parents engaging in ritual sacrifice and although a couple of them have reservations, they do murder folk and then they go home and put on dinner... Almost a scary story kind of a vibe.

The only negatives I can think of so far is that few things are explained, but that is so far. I must assume we will get a bit more exposition as things move along. Perhaps I can also mention the "finding the secret passageway" sequence since that felt a bit off writing- and dialogue-wise. A little too convenient. And finally yes there is a dinosaur and yes there are "powers", but very little of it so far. Some people want action and fast paced superpower-y things, I do to, but first we need to get to know them and flush out all the characters and this show does it perfectly so far, but a few (Americans especially) might find it slow going.

This is great TV and highly recommended. A strong 8 so far, almost a 9.

A small edit: Just saw episode 4, and the creepiness factor just increased, so did dinosaurs, kidnappings, alien glows, multiple murders and tons of other things. I saw someone writing this is for kids, and I said above this is mostly aimed at teenagers, but I can definitely say that this is not for children. This is decently scary and the show feels more and more like an episode of the Twilight Zone then a Marvel show. Great stuff and I will increase that almost 9 to an actual (weak) 9. Been a long time since I looked forward to a next episode so much as I do from this show.
51 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fresh and different. Can't wait for more.
jessup-864462 December 2017
Some of the characters might be a bit stereotypical, but there is enough depth to them to hold my interest. SFX are decent, if used sparingly; Rather than throwing lasers every which way, this show is relying on the writing, which is great. Given the scope of Marvel offerings out there, from several different universes (X-men, Legion, the Gifted, Agents of Shield, Netflix, etc). It is difficult for a show to hold my attention, but I am intrigued with the plot, and enamoured of the diverse and fresh-faced cast. That's another check-mark for Marvel given some of their blunders in that regard ie: Iron Man, Captain America, Ant Man, Thor, and Spider- Man ALL have minorities for sidekicks, but I digress.

10/10, I love it and on tenterhooks for the next episode.
32 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Severely Disappointed
blbelford21 November 2017
I have been looking forward to seeing this for what seems like forever, I'm a huge fan of the comics. With that being said, this feels like it was written by someone who doesn't know the source material. It lacks the fun of the comic book series. This review is solely based upon the first episode, I could barely get through it. The characters seem changed, moody teenagers who happen to have abilities.
44 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Massively over rated. No way does this deserve it's 7+ IMDb rating
elnator-449236 December 2017
Poor acting, really bad story. Boring... it's taken them 5 episodes to get exactly nowhere with the plot so far. Also.. the characters in this show are Stupid... and I do mean stupid with a capital S... characters. Seriously... Nobody is this clueless.

The entire theory of the show seems to be that the bad guys are bad guys because everyone on the planet is so dumb that they haven't noticed the idiotic stunts they've pulled. The show also seems bent on portraying the kids as mentally challenged too. Sure one of them has some tech savvy but, seriously... some of the 'mistakes' they made are 3rd grader nonsense, not high school.

Not believable at all. And I'm pretty forgiving of most marvel titles. I've liked a lot of them just fine. This one is just... awful.

Not sure how the critics are rating this so high. It's absolutely NOT that great a show... it's not even that good a show... it's borderline awful.

Watch it if you have some time to kill and nothing else decent is on... that's about the only advice I can give.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disregarded source material
johnketchy24 December 2017
What do you expect to see when you hear the word "Marvel" ? Colorful action, a pinch of drama, exciting characters - that comes to my mind.

And this show does the complete opposite : you get teen drama, which is a plague nowadays; any superpower and actions scene is pretty short, made poorly and is rather dull; the dialogues are dull and boring.

2 episodes into it i decided to read the source material, comics that this show was *based on*.

The comics itself is amazing, it doesn't waste your time with teen drama - it gives you a little bit of it so you don't get bored. Instead it is packed with action, showing off kids, their characters, motivation. It is completely opposite to the tv series.

If you enjoy annoying kids crying about their cruel fate - then watch the tv series, but if you want to be excited and enjoy the action "Marvel' is famous for - better read the comics.

P.S. I am amazed they didn't put in any LGBT content inside ... so far at least ^___^
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Joke
jeffsanford23 February 2018
A silly story, bad acting, another LGBQT vehicle, minors as lesbians, minors having sex, overall a stupid premise. Shame on you Marvel. I expected more.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Runaway Before It's Too Late
Providenceyaway6 February 2018
I think a fair assessment should always include both the good and the bad. The Good: It's shot really nice. Los Angeles, CA was the perfect spot to do a Spider-Man: Homecoming/90210/The Great Indoors mashup. The visuals are pretty good, the action's OK. I saw only 6 of the 10 first episodes so I can only judge as far as that goes. The decision to make the parents villains to the teens, despite them not having much presence in the actual comics, was a noteworthy risk to take. Some of the parents are interesting characters themselves, albeit they don't really as deep into any of them as much as they should. The makeup and costume design is also good, everyone looks exactly like their comic book counterparts, which is also bad because...

The Bad: They sacrificed good writing for what looks good. It's not just the dialogue that's bad, or bland and cartoony side characters that are bad, but for most of the first 6 episodes _absolutely nothing happens_. We get exposition, we slowly learn of everyone's special superpowers, and it seems to mix allegories when suddenly they go after a gunman with lasers and magic.

Also the drama is _atrocious_. After the characters are all long introduced, you'll notice filler scenes with characters bleeding out exposition but not talking for the sake of change. As a rule, that's what's SUPPOSED to happen in a scene!

It was at about episode 4 or 6 I found myself in the worst place possible: that is _wishing_ for conflict. Wishing for something unpredictable to hit the characters, or episodes that end with them making real choices that can't be undone (Show Writing 101).

Did I mention the characters? They're mostly bad: Alex: Fine. Just fine. Not exciting or anything. Boy #2: Also just fine, a little exciting, but has a lot of cringey lines. Gurt: Annoying, pink haired, 3rd wave feminist, who is the show's propaganda preacher, goes unchallenged, has _visible_ double standards, is unfunny, annoying even to her parents, and makes me lose hope in our society when a kid like her was so horribly socialized. The adopted Mexican: Small, doesn't add anything to any scene, occasionally helpful because of her mutant genes (not because of her personality or intelligence or anything). The Church Girl: I found this character a little offensive. Not because she was an obvious riff on scientology and Jehovah's Witnessism, but because they said that this show was the "human story" because they "summed up people of all races, genders, sexualities, and...'religious beliefs'" with their characters. A closeted lesbian cult-follower does not sum up anyone remotely outside California. Obvious agenda is obvious. Because that, she was just okay. Nico: Eh. I'm very neutral towards Nico. She may be an Asian Wiccan girl with the EXACT VOICE OF MILEY CYRUS 5 YEARS AGO still grieving her dead sister one year later, but in terms of character she has nothing to offer except, "poor me, my sister died. Who can relate?"

I'd mention the individual villains too, but this review is already long enough.

Spoiler on the villains' secret motivations: It turns out most of the parents who are a part of the PRIDE committee were FORCED via blackmail to join. The ONE aspect that kept me watching turned out to be: "Oh, look! They're not even bad guys! They're just FORCED into cultic ritual and killing! Don't you feel for them?" NO! I don't! Because now, instead of them having values that challenge society AND the main characters, they're just common criminals with a stick! And you know what, they don't all even have to be a part of PRIDE! Yes, their boss needed someone to hold the cult mansion, someone to hold the staff, and time travelers...but MUTANTS, the witch's husband, and scientists? Maybe if I kept watching I'd know his "grand plan", but again, I stopped caring when I found out they were just common criminals.

No More Spoilers Here.

The Ugly: There's more I could talk about, like how they reenacted an UNREALISTIC almost-rape scenario and then showed a girl actually victim blaming two episodes later because...she loved lacrosse so much. It was HYSTERICALLY cartoony. Clearly, to make up for all the empty writing, the writers and producers thought they could heavily appeal to millennial leftism, despite the fact that Generation Z, the focus group of this show and age of its main characters, are going to be conservative as possible in the future. Even they won't like the ridiculous scenarios that happen, like the pink-haired feminist girl having two overaged men flirting and complimenting her. It's not because she was ugly that I'm complaining; it's how unrealistic their openness was.

So all in all, if you like progressive pandering, your leftist views to be affirmed, women needing to use superpowers while the men rely on actual smarts, millennials to be coddled (the show's called "Runaways" and they're still living off their parents' assets for some reason), and a comic book that _looks_ interesting to be watered down to it's basic Wikipedia page, then well, this show was made for you! (For $8/monthly on Hulu of course)
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a boring show ! !
ahmetozuturk11 June 2018
This show starts terribly slow and it doesn't add anything to its awful character development . It is an absolute torture to watch first season .
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Yawn......zzzzzzzzz
bruce-griffin6726 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Invested time in the first two episodes. Will not be returning. EP1 - lots of characters introduced; none are likable, none create interest in the story. EP2 - So slow I fast forwarded the first 30 min at double speed. Still kept up with the glacial story pace. Still found no reason to like any of the characters or really care if they succeed or fail. I don't see spending another 45 min to see if it improves. Writers use to know how to grab your interest in chapter 1. I think these writers assume just having 'Marvel' in the title card is enough to create interest. Nope. With series like this and "The Gifted" I can see why Disney is pulling all the licensing and limiting new content.
20 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Runaway? Good idea
Healing_Process27 January 2018
I won't lie to you, I wanted to hold off a few more episodes to see what good potential this show had and Its ruined somewhere after the 4th-5th episode. The show has a great premise and it keeps you on the edge for a few episodes. Then all of a sudden, you just stop caring. They never do anything towards their problems, hardly anything gets resolved, everything goes at a snail pace, and all their problems become non-problem problems.

Take all of this and sprinkle in off-putting humor and awkwardness swirled in with some crocodile tear sad scenes that make you realize the milk spoiled 5 episodes ago. With a liberal agenda cherry on top to complete this Banana Sh(i)t.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
not worth watching
drramimagdi11 January 2018
The bad 1- a lot of unsolved mysteries , unanswered questions to the extent that it's just tiresome to watch. to top it off, a cliffhanger finale!. If you remember how dragging Heroes & Lost were , this one isn't interesting to know what happens next in the show 2- nothing actually happens for 10 episodes. just some drama. cheating and love triangles. action scenes are very minimal

the good error 404 not found
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed